Eriksons eight stages

Is it okay to have been me? Reflection on life Hope:

Eriksons eight stages

A stage is a period in development in which people exhibit typical behavior patterns and establish particular capacities. The various stage theories share three assumptions: People pass through stages in a specific order, with each stage building on capacities developed in the previous stage.

Stages are related to age. Development is discontinuous, with qualitatively different capacities emerging in each stage. Of these stages, Freud believed that early childhood was the most important.

Committed to people development

He believed that personality developed by about the age of five. In the early s, Erikson proposed a theory that describes eight distinct stages of development.

Erikson named the stages according to these possible outcomes: Mistrust In the first year after birth, babies depend completely on adults for basic needs such as food, comfort, and warmth. If the caretakers meet these needs reliably, the babies become attached and develop a sense of security.

Otherwise, they may develop a mistrustful, insecure attitude. Shame and Doubt Between the ages of one and three, toddlers start to gain independence and learn skills such as toilet training, feeding themselves, and dressing themselves.

Depending on how they face these challenges, toddlers can develop a sense of autonomy or a sense of doubt and shame about themselves.Erik Erikson (15 June – 12 May ) was a Danish-German-American developmental psychologist and psychoanalyst known for his theory on social development of human beings.

Erikson’s () theory of psychosocial development has eight distinct stages, taking in five stages up to the age of 18 years and three further stages beyond, well into adulthood.

Definition Personality development is the development of the organized pattern of behaviors and attitudes that makes a person distinctive. Erik Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development.

Share Flip Email Search the site GO. More in Theories Psychosocial Psychology Behavioral Psychology Biological Psychology Let's take a closer look at the background and different stages that make up Erikson's psychosocial theory. Erik Erikson’s Psycho-Social Stages of Development Erikson’s eight stages of psychosocial development behaviors that may be associated with healthy.

Eriksons eight stages

Personality defines us as an individual. But how do we become what we really are?

Eriksons eight stages

Sometimes we need to develop ourselves and that is what is called personality development. There are some things in us as an individual that we need to curb down and some to improve.

This is possible only through personality development.

Erikson’s Psychosocial Development Theory | Activity Director Live!